ESC announces 2020 Research Grant Program recipients

ESC is pleased to announce that University of British Columbia researchers are the recipients of our 2020 Research Grant Program. We received applications from researchers from leading universities across Canada.

This years winners are:

  • Dr. Jan Dutz, MD, FRCPC, Professor and Head, Department of Dermatology and Skin Science, Senior Scientist, BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute, University of British Columbia
  • Dr. Touraj Khosravi, MD, 2nd year resident in the Department of Dermatology and Skin Science, University of British Columbia

Dr. Jan P. Dutz, MD, FRCPC and Dr. Touraj Khosravi, MD won the 2020 Grant for their project entitled The Role of IL-7 and IL-15 on Tissue Resident Memory T-Cells in the Recurrence of Dermatitis. This research could lead to breakthroughs for the understanding and potential treatment of eczema and atopic dermatitis.

Amanda Cresswell-Melville, ESC’s Executive Director says, “ESC is pleased with the impact ESC’s competitive Research Grant Program is having on eczema advancement in Canada. We are proud to have a thriving Research Grant Program that directly supports our mission of advancing eczema research in Canada. Dr. Dutz and Dr. Khosravi’s research has the potential to change our understanding of the disease.”

The focus of the Research Grant Program is to facilitate research that aims to improve care and quality of life for eczema sufferers. Specific areas of focus may include, but are not limited to, atopic dermatitis, hand eczema, and contact dermatitis.

Stay tuned as ESC will be announcing its call to applications for the 2021 Research Grant Program soon. Visit for more information.